Events & News

GOVERNMENT RELATIONS TRAINING ORGANIZED BY OUR LIVING WATERS

Our Living Waters is offering government relations training to better understand how Ottawa works, which is a major barrier to getting involved in water advocacy! The training will be in English only.

The free training will be delivered through the Zoom platform. Registration is required.

The sessions are open to all, you do not need to be a member of OLW to register.

Join us for two Government Relations Training sessions with Aaron Freeman in December 2022 on the Zoom platform! Both events are open to everyone, you do not need to be an OLW member to sign up:

  • How Ottawa Works - How Federal Policies and Budgets are Made
    Dec 1 @ 10am PST, 11am MST, 12pm CST, 1pm EST, 2pm AST, 2:30pm NST
  • Thinking Like Government and Advancing your Issue
    Dec 8 @ 10am PST, 11am MST, 12pm CST, 1pm EST, 2pm AST, 2:30pm NST

Each session will be informal and will include a presentation, a question and answer period and concrete examples.

Details: 

  • Learn to spot when water advocacy should be done.
  • Identify where to go to understand the federal perspective on an issue.
  • Find out where the entry points are to make your voice heard.
  • Find out how politicians maneuver and learn how to best articulate your advocacy.

We feel that the freshwater community underestimates the impact that the federal government can have on water health. It is easy to point to provincial jurisdiction or municipal responsibility and overlook the role that the federal government plays. However, the federal government plays an important role in a number of very complex water-related issues, including Aboriginal communities, the marine environment and waterways, both national and international in scope. We are all working in parallel on these issues. Let's work together.